Email Us

Contact Centre
(+268) 2406 4050


The SRA has five modes through which taxpayers may make payments.

NOTE: When making payments through direct deposits, inter account transfers and electronic funds transfer (EFT) always make sure to reference the payment in line with the SRA approved referencing format to allow for expeditious processing of the payment. Failure to reference in this format may result in your payment being routed to suspence account anfd therefore delaying allocation of the funds into the intended account. Penalties and interest due to late payment will be charged despite the amount being in suspense. See below for the approved format for referencing payments.



Taxpayers may make payments in any of the SRA's field offices; i.e. the border posts, inland container depot, airport and AGOA offices (for Customs duties and VAT import payments only) and the tax offices (for Income Tax payments). These offices receive both cash and cheque payments, however:

i) Cash payments MUST NOT exceed E10 000

ii) Only company cheques can be used (upon prior authorisation by the SRA) to make any tax payment; cheque payments should not exceed E500 000 as per the Central Bank of Swaziland rules. 

Authorisation to use a company cheque is considered upon written application by a taxpayer to the Commissioner General. Applications must be accompanied by a bank statement for the last three months. Approval will be subject to the following:

  • The taxpayer has sufficient funds in the bank;
  • The taxpayer has a constant history of banking; and
  • The taxpayer has no record of dishonored payments due to shortage of funds within the last two years.


Cheques are to be made payabe to the Swaziland Revenue Authority.

Termination of the facility to pay by cheque

  • A taxpayer will automatically be disqualified once a cheque is dishonoured.
  • A taxpayer may re-apply to pay taxes using company cheques after 2 years and the application will be approved only if the taxpayer has demonstrated credit worthiness.


Post-dated cheques

Post-dated cheques may be accepted under exceptional circumstances; special arrangements must have been prior made with the SRA.

Bank guaranteed cheques

Bank guaranteed cheque payments will be accepted for payment of taxes without a pre-qualification for the taxpayer.


Taxpayers may deposit, in any of the five local banks, either cash or cheques directly into the SRA's accounts. First National Bank however only accepts cheque deposits therefore cash deposits will not be allowed. 


A taxpayer may instruct the bank to debit a transacting account and crediting an SRA account. These are normally carried out by the bank on behalf of the taxpayer. The same method of referencing as mentioned above will be required for this payment method as well.


A taxpayer may make payment by transferring funds electronically into any of the SRA's accounts.


It remains the responsibility of the taxpayer to ensure that payments are received by the SRA on time. Failure to reference a payment in this exact format may delay payment processing by the SRA, thereby resulting in undue penalties and interests which will not be reversed.

Taxpayers are further advised to make payments at least 48 hours before such payment is due; and in the case of prepaid import VAT, payment must be made at least 48 hours before the goods arrive at the port of entry so as to avoid any unnecessary delays.


Use of what is commonly referred to as speed-point machines is another very convenient way that taxpayers may pay their taxes. Through the speedpoint a taxpayer will use either a debit or credit card to swipe and make payment and it is instant.

The SRA currently has speedpoints at Ngwenya, Lavumisa, Mahamba, Matsamo, Mananga and Mhlumeni border posts. In our inland Customs and tax offices, taxpayers may use the speedpoints at Matsapha airport, Inland Container Depot, Manzini Service Centre, Mbabane Tax Office (Gwamile Street), Mbabane Tax Office (Domestic Taxes H/Q), Matsapha Tax Office and Nhlangano Tax Office.

Of importance to note is that Card Not Present transactions are not allowed.


It is important that all payments made to the SRA be referenced properly to allow expeditious processing and allocation to the relevant account(s). The following elements make up the approved referencing format:

Tax ref: This is the number that identifies to the SRA the taxpayer from whom the payment is received. For most taxpayers this is the new style Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) which was introduced with VAT and has since replaced the PY number for employers, the Customs TIN for commercial importers and exporters and the tax reference number for Provisional Taxpayers. This new style TIN is a nine digit number (100 xxx xxx) that is issued by the SRA on submission of a TIN Registration Form with all supporting documentation.

Tax item code: This is a two letter code that identifies what is being paid for. The SRA has changed these codes from the previous 5 digit codes and has also reduced them from approximately 80 to just 26. For a full list of the codes click here.

Calendar year: The previous referencing format required taxpayers to use the tax year; this has since changed to use of the calendar year in respect of the payment. NOTE that this is not the calendar year in which the payment is being made, but in respect of the payment being made. E.g. a payment made in May 2013 for a December 2012 debt will be referenced with 2012.

Tax month: Use the first 3 letters of the calendar month in respect of the payment being made. E.g. DEC for December.

A complete reference for a taxpayer whose TIN is 100 123 456 paying VAT in respect of December 2012 would therefore be referenced as follows 


In this way the SRA can speedily identify who paid for what and for which period thus making it easy to allocate it into the relevant account.


  View all Application Forms

  View all Customs and Excise Forms

  View all VAT Forms

  View all Income Tax Forms

  View all Other Forms




Provisional Tax:

1st payment is due no later than 31st December

2nd payment is due no later than 30th June

3rd payment is due on receipt of Notice of Assessment after having submitted Income Tax returns

Remittance of PAYE:

No later than the 7th every month

See All

© 2017 Swaziland Revenue Authority. All rights reserved

Website Designed by Real Image Internet